Dear singing and listening participants at the 7th Louis Lewandowski Festival, welcome!

Nils Busch- Petersen | Festivaldirektor
In 2011 we started the festival full of questions. Would interested participants be found? How will the Berlin audience react? Where should we find the money?

Today we have a long list of choirs hoping to participate in the future. We are happy about a loyal audience in Berlin and Potsdam, send tickets all over the world. So far, the project has been financed privately. The initial questions are answered

Artistically, we return to our origins in the seventh year: the first festival was dedicated to Louis Lewandowski’s work, while his contemporaries Salomon Sulzer (Vienna) and Samuel Naumbourg (Paris) were also the focus of the second festival. In 2013, Berlin celebrated the theme year of destroyed diversity.

We dedicated the festival to the synagogal music of Jewish composers from Germany who were persecuted or murdered in the Shoah. The fourth festival “Star and Stripes” was dedicated to Jewish composers of synagogue music who emigrated to the United States.

2015 became the festival year under the sign of the Eastern European choir Shul. Last year we experienced “Jewish Renaissance and Baroque in synagogal music”. After so many journeys through time and space, we “ground” the festival by returning home to Berlin and Louis Lewandowski. There is still much to discover here, join us!

sincerly yours
Nils Busch-Petersen | Festival Director

Dr.-Gideon-Joffe,-Vorstandsvorsitzender-der-Juedischen-Gemeinde-zu-Berlin

Dr. Gideon Joffe | Vorsitzender der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin


It is largely thanks to the great reformer of synagogal music that the traditional Jewish prayer service took on a new form.

Read More

Michael Müller | Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin


I would like to welcome all musicians and guests to the 7th Louis Lewandowski Festival.

Read More

Liebe singende und lauschende Teilnehmende am 7. Louis Lewandowski Festival, seien Sie herzlich willkommen!

Nils Busch- Petersen | Festivaldirektor2011 begannen wir das Festival voller Fragen. Würden sich interessierte Teilnehmerfinden? Wie wird das Berliner Publikum reagieren? Wo sollten wir das nötige Geld auftreiben?

Heute verfügen wir über eine lange Liste an Chören, die auf künftige Teilnahme hoffen. Wir freuen uns über ein treues Publikum in Berlin und Potsdam, senden Karten in alle Welt. Es ist bisher gelungen, das Projekt privat zu finanzieren. Die Ausgangsfragen sind beantworte

Künstlerisch kehren wir im siebten Jahr zu unseren Ursprung zurück: Widmete sich das erste Festival Louis Lewandowskis Werk, standen beim zweiten Festival auch seine Zeitgenossen Salomon Sulzer (Wien) und Samuel Naumbourg (Paris) im Fokus. 2013 beging Berlin das Themenjahr der zerstörten Vielfalt.

Wir widmeten das Festival der Synagogalmusik jüdischer Komponisten aus Deutschland, die in der Schoa verfolgt oder ermordet wurden. Das vierte Festival „Star and Stripes“ war den jüdischen Komponisten synagogaler Musik gewidmet, die in die Vereinigten Staaten ausgewandert waren.

2015 wurde zum Festivaljahr im Zeichen der osteuropäischen Chor Shul. Im vergangenen Jahr erlebten wir „Jüdische Renaissance und Barock in der Synagogalmusik“. Nach so vielen Reisen durch Zeit und Raum „erden“ wir das Festival durch die Heimkehr nach Berlin und zu Louis Lewandowski. Es gibt hier noch Vieles zu entdecken, machen Sie mit!

Ihr
Nils Busch-Petersen | Festivaldirektor

Dr.-Gideon-Joffe,-Vorstandsvorsitzender-der-Juedischen-Gemeinde-zu-Berlin

Dr. Gideon Joffe | Vorsitzender der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin


Dem großen Reformator der Synagogalmusik ist es im Wesentlichen zu verdanken, dass der traditionelle jüdische Gebetsgottesdienst eine neue Form erhielt

weiterlesen »

Michael Müller | Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin


Zum 7. Louis Lewandowski Festival begrüße ich alle Musikerinnen und Musiker sowie alle Gäste sehr herzlich.

weiterlesen »