Louis Lewandowski Festival 2022

From Rossi to Rossini. The Synagogal Music of Italy from Five Centuries


The Louis Lewandowski Festival 2022 is dedicated to the diverse traditions of Italian synagogal music.

Never before the creation of the State of Israel did Jews of so many varied origins live together, and in such a stimulating (if at times threatening) environment as in the land they called in Hebrew I-Tal-Yah, “Island of Divine Dew.” A crossroad in world culture, Italy has been for over two thousand years a haven for several layers of immigration from the four comers of the Diaspora. This has made it possible for the peculiar Italian, Sephardi (or Spagnoli) and Ashkenazi (or Tedeschi) identities, rituals, and traditions to coexist. It all began at the dawn of the Modem Era, in the Renaissance ghettos, and continued during the Emancipation (19th century) and up to the present. The 2022 Festival is dedicated to these traditions.

Culture and Language

Distinct Judeo-Italian dialects, foods, customs, and melodies were created over time, showing the influence of the communities where they originated, even after Yiddish and Ladino had been abandoned as spoken languages. Italian Jews successfully navigated their way amongst tradition, diversity, religious conflicts, emancipation, cosmopolitanism and multiculturalism, all at the very heart of Christianity.

Folk tunes, as well as Italy’s most celebrated music, Opera and bel canto vocal style

Italy’s own peculiar history is indeed reflected in its Jewish melodies. Each community developed a style of synagogue song according to its origins. Some groups retained the ancient Italian minhag (ritual), which differs from the Sephardi and the Ashkenazi ones especially in the cantillation of the Torah (Hebrew Pentateuch) and in the pronunciation of Hebrew. At the same time, Jews who immigrated to Italy over time kept their original (Sephardi, Ashkenazi) rituals, but adapted them to the Jewish and non-Jewish Italian musical environments, often adopting the local pronunciation of Hebrew. In all communities, the impact of Italian art and popular music was tremendous: folk tunes, as well as Italy’s most celebrated music, Opera and bel canto vocal style, were incorporated into the liturgy. Some Jewish melodies created in Italy were disseminated throughout the Diaspora, where they may still be found.

Italian Jewish community

Due to migrations, persecutions and assimilation, many musical traditions extant until before World War II are now lost. Nevertheless, the contemporary Italian Jewish community of less than thirty thousand people, with its local differences and currents, still retains its multicultural world in its music.

Dr. Francesco Spagnolo

Festival choirs 2022

Synagogal Ensemble Berlin

The Synagogal Ensemble Berlin (SEB) was founded in 2002 by Regina Yantian as a concert ensemble. It consists of 8 - 16 professional singers, who work at international opera houses and are also active as freelance concert singers in the choir of the Pestalozzistrasse Synagogue, among others. Choir…

Adi Classical Young Choir, Israel

Adi Classical Young Choir at the New Vocal Ensemble was established in 2006 by Yishai Shteckler and Goni Bar Sela. Since 2009, it performs under the baton of its musical director, conductor Oded Shomrony. The choir performs in subscription series of Orchestras and various a cappella programs at…

Kol Zimrah Jewish Community Singers

Kol Zimrah Jewish Community Singers began in 1996 and now includes members from over a dozen Chicago-area synagogues. Kol Zimrah provides a common forum for singers from many backgrounds in the pursuit of musical excellence.

PROFETI DELLA QUINTA

The ensemble was founded in Galilee, Israel, by Elam Rotem. It is currently based in Basel, Switzerland, where its members completed advanced studies at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis.

Coro Ha-Kol

The Coro Ha-Kol (The Voice) was founded in December 1993 on the initiative of some singers of the Tempio Maggiore, the largest synagogue in Rome, and other lovers of the Jewish musical tradition.

Things to know in 2022

Magazin 2022 (Webversion 1.7 MB)

Pre Opening Konzert 2023

The pre-opening concert at the Jewish Community on December 14, 2022. The ensemble "Profeti della Quinta" performs "Joseph and his brothers". A Biblical Oratorio in three acts by Elam Rotem. The work was written especially for the ensemble and is set for five singing voices, instruments and basso…

Greetings 2022

The greetings of Dr. Gideon Joffe - Chairman of the Jewish Community of Berlin, Franziska Giffey, the Governing Mayor of Berlin and Dr. Dietmar Woidke - Minister President of the State of Brandenburg. The Louis Lewandowski Festival would like to thank all three of them in particular for their…

Opening concert 2022

Performers: Soloists: Charlotte Khuner, Soprano | Anne-Lisa Nathan, Alt | Ron Silberstein, Tenor Yiwei Mao, Bass | Gabriel Loewenheim, Bass | Harpsichord and organ: Jacobus Gladziwa Lewandowski String Ensemble Berlin | Director: Regina Yantian Synagogal Ensemble Berlin | Director: Regina Yantian |…

Final concert 2022

Joint performance of all ensembles of the Louis Lewandowski Festival 2022 in the largest synagogue in Germany. Watch the video of the entire concert. Coro Ha-Kol, Rom Adi Classical Young Choir, Tel Aviv Kol Zimrah Jewish Community Singers, Chicago Synagogal Ensemble Berlin Lewandowski String…

Final Concert

Louis Lewandowski Festival 2022

Von Rossi bis Rossini. Die Synagogalmusik Italiens aus fünf Jahrhunderten


Das Louis Lewandowski Festival 2022 ist den vielfältigen Traditionen italienischer Synagogalmusik gewidmet.

Niemals vor der Gründung des Staates Israel lebten Juden so unterschiedlicher Herkunft zusammen und in einer so anregenden (wenn auch manchmal bedrohlichen) Umgebung wie in Italien. Dem Land, das sie auf Hebräisch I-Tal-Yah, „Insel des göttlichen Taus“, nennen. Als Knotenpunkt der Weltkultur ist Italien seit über zweitausend Jahren ein Zufluchtsort für verschiedene Einwanderungsschichten aus den vier Ländern der Diaspora. Dies ermöglichte die Koexistenz der besonderen italienischen, sephardischen (oder Spagnoli) und aschkenasischen (oder Tedeschi) Identitäten, Rituale und Traditionen. Dies begann zu Beginn der Neuzeit in den Ghettos der Renaissance und setzte sich während der Emanzipation (19. Jahrhundert) bis in die Gegenwart fort. Das diesjährige Festival ist diesen Traditionen gewidmet.

Jüdisch-italienische Dialekte, Speisen, Bräuche und Melodien

Im Laufe der Zeit haben sich verschiedene jüdisch-italienische Dialekte, Speisen, Bräuche und Melodien herausgebildet, die den Einfluss der Gemeinden, aus denen sie stammen, auch dann noch zeigen, nachdem Jiddisch und Ladino als gesprochene Sprachen aufgegeben worden waren. Die italienischen Juden haben sich erfolgreich zwischen Tradition, Vielfalt, religiösen Konflikten, Emanzipation, Kosmopolitismus und Multikulturalismus bewegt, und das alles im Herzen des Christentums.

Einfluss der italienischen Kunst- und Volksmusik auf Synagogenliedern

Die besondere Geschichte Italiens spiegelt sich in der Tat in den jüdischen Melodien wider. Jede Gemeinde hat je nach ihrer Herkunft einen eigenen Stil von Synagogenliedern entwickelt. Einige Gruppen haben den alten italienischen Minhag (Ritual) beibehalten, der sich von den sephardischen und aschkenasischen vor allem in der Kantillation der Tora (hebräischer Pentateuch) und in der Aussprache des Hebräischen unterscheidet. Gleichzeitig behielten die im Laufe der Zeit nach Italien eingewanderten Juden ihre ursprünglichen (sephardischen, aschkenasischen) Rituale bei, passten sie aber an das jüdische und nichtjüdische italienische musikalische Umfeld an und übernahmen oft die lokale Aussprache des Hebräischen. In allen Gemeinden war der Einfluss der italienischen Kunst- und Volksmusik enorm: Volksweisen, aber auch die berühmteste Musik Italiens, die Oper und der Belcanto-Gesangsstil, wurden in die Liturgie integriert. Einige in Italien entstandene jüdische Melodien wurden in der Diaspora verbreitet, wo sie noch heute zu finden sind.

Verlust von vielen Traditionen

Aufgrund von Migration, Verfolgung und Assimilierung sind viele der bis vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg bestehenden musikalischen Traditionen heute verloren. Dennoch bewahrt die heutige italienische jüdische Gemeinde, die weniger als dreißigtausend Menschen zählt, mit ihren lokalen Unterschieden und Strömungen ihre multikulturelle Welt in ihrer Musik.

Francesco Spagnolo

Festivalchöre 2022

PROFETI DELLA QUINTA

Das Ensemble wurde in Galiläa, Israel, von Elam Rotem gegründet. Es ist derzeit in Basel, Schweiz, ansässig, wo seine Mitglieder weiterführende Studien an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis absolvierten.

Synagogal Ensemble Berlin

Das Synagogal Ensemble Berlin (SEB) wurde 2002 von Regina Yantian als Konzertensemble gegründet. Es besteht aus 8 – 16 professionellen Sängern, die an internationalen Opernhäusern arbeiten und als freischaffende Konzertsänger u.a. auch im Chor der Synagoge Pestalozzistraße tätig sind. Chorleiterin…

Adi Classical Young Choir, Israel

Der Adi Classical Young Choir des New Vocal Ensemble wurde 2006 von Yishai Shteckler und Goni Bar Sela gegründet. Seit 2009 zeichnet Musikdirektor und Dirigent Oded Shomrony verantwortlich. Der Chor tritt auf in Abonnement-Konzerten von Orchestern und mit verschiedenen a-cappella-Programmen bei…

Kol Zimrah Jewish Community Singers

Kol Zimrah, was so viel wie „Stimme des Gesangs“ bedeutet, begann 1996 als Gemeindechor. Heute umfasst die Gruppe Mitglieder auch aus anderen Synagogen im Großraum Chicago sowie einige Sängerinnen und Sänger, die keiner Gemeinde angehören. Der Chor bietet Singenden mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund…

Coro Ha-Kol

Der Coro Ha-Kol (Die Stimme) wurde im Dezember 1993 auf Initiative einiger Sänger des Tempio Maggiore, der größten Synagoge Roms, sowie anderer Liebhaber der jüdischen Musiktradition gegründet.

Wissenwertes 2022

Magazin 2022 (Webversion 1,7)

Grussworte 2022

Die Grußworte von Dr. Gideon Joffe – Vorsitzender der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin, Franziska Giffey, der Regierenden Bürgermeisterin von Berlin und Dr. Dietmar Woidke – Ministerpräsident des Landes Brandenburg. Allen dreien möchte das Louis Lewandowski Festival ganz besonderes für die…

Eröffnungskonzert 2022

Eröffnung in der Nikolaikirche Potsdam. Von Rossi bis Rossini. Die Synagogalmusik Italiens aus fünf Jahrhunderten in der Nikolaikirche in Potsdam am 15. Dezember 2022 Aufführende: Solisten: Charlotte Khuner, Sopran | Anne-Lisa Nathan, Alt | Ron Silberstein, Tenor Yiwei Mao, Bass | Gabriel…

Abschlusskonzert 2022

Gemeinsamer Auftritt aller Ensembles des Louis Lewandowski Festivals 2022 in der größten Synagoge Deutschlands. Schauen sich sich das Video des gesamten Konzerts an. Coro Ha-Kol, Rom Adi Classical Young Choir, Tel Aviv Kol Zimrah Jewish Community Singers, Chicago Synagogal Ensemble Berlin…

Video des Abschlusskonzert

Alle Chöre und Ensembles des Festivals 2022