The Synagogal Ensemble Berlin was founded in 2002 as a concert ensemble by Regina Yantian. It consists of eight to 16 professional singers, who work at international opera houses and as freelance concert singers as well as in the choir of Pestalo8zzistraße synagogue in Berlin.

The aim of the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin is to acquaint a broad public with Jewish liturgical and cantorial music, the focus lying on the German-Jewish tradition of Louis Lewandowski, a musical genre that had almost fallen into oblivion and that the festival aspired to revive.

Over the years, the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin has acquired a wide repertoire of synagogue music, ranging from baroque to 19th century composers from Western and Eastern Europe. Modern and choral works from Israel have also become a well-received contribution to the festival.

In over 15 years of its existence, the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin has given countless concerts in synagogues, churches or concert halls in Germany, Poland, Serbia, Sweden, England, Italy, Israel and South Africa – a capella, with organ accompaniment or with orchestra.

Since 2011 the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin has hosted the guest choirs at the annual Louis Lewandowski Festival in Berlin. Festival director Nils Busch-Petersen is also member of the board of the Association of Friends and Promoters of the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin. Once a year in December, choirs from all over the world are invited to Berlin, making the treasures of synagogue music from different periods and regions resound throughout the city at the Louis Lewandowski Festival.

Regina Yantian began her training as an organist at the age of 10 and later as a choir director. She studied Jewish Studies and Comparative Musicology in Heidelberg, Jerusalem and Berlin.

In the course of her studies, she dealt in depth with various forms of Jewish music. She completed her master’s degree with a thesis on Israeli pop music.

She has been organist and choirmaster of the Pestalozzistraße Synagogue since 1998. There she leads the professional choir of the synagogue, which accompanies all church services. Regina Yantian is also an experienced leader of lay choirs. From 2004-2011 she directed the “Shalom Choir Berlin”, from 2011-2020 the “Re’utchor Berlin”, from 2013-2020 the Youth Choir of the Pestalozzistraße Synagogue.
Since 2021 she leads the “Refugiochor Berlin” and the “Young SEB”.

Das Synagogal Ensemble Berlin (SEB) wurde 2002 von Regina Yantian als Konzertensemble gegründet. Es besteht aus 8 – 16 professionellen Sängern, die an internationalen Opernhäusern arbeiten und als freischaffende Konzertsänger unter anderem auch im Chor der Synagoge Pestalozzistraße tätig sind. Chorleiterin und künstlerische Leiterin ist Regina Yantian.

Ziel des Synagogal Ensemble Berlin ist, einem breiten Publikum die jüdische Liturgie und kantorale Musik mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der deutschen Tradition nach Louis Lewandowski nahe zu bringen – ein Musikgenre, das fast in Vergessenheit geraten war und bei Musikkennern sehr beliebt ist.

Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich das SEB ein großes Repertoire erarbeitet, das Synagogalmusik von der Barockzeit über Komponisten im 19. Jahrhundert aus West- und Osteuropa bis zu Werken der Moderne und Chorwerken aus Israel umfasst. Das Synagogal Ensemble Berlin hat in den mehr als 15 Jahren seines Bestehens unzählige Konzerte in Synagogen, Kirchen oder Konzertsälen in Deutschland, Polen, Serbien, Schweden, England, Italien, Israel und Südafrika gegeben – a capella, mit Orgelbegleitung oder mit Orchester.

Seit 2011 ist das Synagogal Ensemble Berlin das gastgebende Ensemble des alljährlich in Berlin stattfindenden Louis Lewandowski Festivals. Sein Gründer, Nils Busch-Petersen, gehört gleichzeitig dem Vorstand des Vereins der Freunde und Förderer des Synagogal Ensemble Berlin an. In jedem Jahr werden Chöre aus aller Welt nach Berlin eingeladen, um die Schätze synagogaler Musik verschiedener Epochen und Regionen dem Berliner Publikum bekannt zu machen

Regina Yantian begann im Alter von 10 Jahren ihre Ausbildung zur Organistin und später zur Chorleiterin. Sie studierte in Heidelberg, Jerusalem und Berlin Jüdische Studien und Vergleichende Musikwissenschaften.

Im Rahmen ihres Studiums beschäftigte sie sich eingehend mit den verschiedensten Ausprägungen jüdischer Musik. Sie schloss ihren Master mit einer Arbeit über die israelische Popmusik ab.

Regina Yantian ist seit 1998 Organistin und Chorleiterin der Synagoge Pestalozzistraße. Dort leitet sie den professionellen Chor der Synagoge, der alle Gottesdienste begleitet. Regina Yantian ist auch eine erfahrene Leiterin von Laienchören. Von 2004-2011 leitete sie den „Schalom-Chor Berlin“, von 2011-2020 den „Re´utchor Berlin“, von 2013-2020 den Jugendchor der Synagoge Pestalozzistraße.
Seit 2021 leitet sie den „Refugiochor Berlin“ und das „Young SEB“.