Louis Lewandowski Festival 2018

Berlin | Potsdam 20. - 23. December


In Judaism, joy and sorrow are very close together, and so we dedicate the LLF 2018 to a happy and a sad event, the 70th Independence Day of the State of Israel and the 80th return of the November pogrom of 1938.

Star of Hope – Israeli Choral Music
November pogrom as a symbol for the subsequent extermination of the Jews and the founding of the State of Israel are thematically very closely linked, since the founding of the State of Israel is to be understood as a response to the mass murder in the Shoah.

After a short musical commemoration we will turn to the creative, positive power of Israeli choral music in all its facets and richness. In it, the connection to the development of the country with its people and landscapes was found,

on the revived Hebrew language, the Jewish religion, the Bible, to name but a few examples, their artistic, identity-forming expression. It is also a mirror of the social development of the country.

While in the initial phase the focus was on the music of Ashkenazic Jews from Europe, over the years it became more diverse and depicted the various ethnic groups living in the country. The festival wants to do justice to this diversity and spans 70 years of Israel.

Choirs of the Louis Lewandowski Festival 2018


Last year, the seventh Louis Lewandowski Festival returned to one of the fathers of modern synagogal music and thus to the festival's namesake.

ADI CLASSICAL YOUNG CHOIR at the New Vocal Ensemble was established in 2006 by Yishai Shteckler and Goni Bar Sela. Since 2009, it performs under the baton of its musical director, conductor Oded Shomrony.

Adi Classical Young Choir, Israel


Adi Classical Young Choir at the New Vocal Ensemble was established in 2006 by Yishai Shteckler and Goni Bar Sela. Since 2009, it performs under the baton of its musical director, conductor Oded Shomrony. The choir performs in subscription series of Orchestras and various a cappella programs at HaMishkan LeOmanuyot HaBama, Abu Ghosh Festival, the Jerusalem Music Centre, the Tel Aviv Museum of the Arts, the Felicja Blumental Music Center and the Mormon University in Jerusalem.

Read More

CECILIA ENSEMBLE, Israel

Cecilia Ensemble, Israel


A new ensemble from the Moran Choirs group, the Cecila Ensemble, is comprised of eight outstanding solo vocalists from Israel.
The Ensemble was founded in 2016 by Naomi Faran, conductor and musical director of the Moran Choirs, to become the professional representative Ensemble, performing original and unique musical programs, in collaboration with the best composers from Israel and around the globe.

Read More

Academic  Symphony Orchestra of Chernivtsi Philharmonic Society

Chernivtsi Philharmonic Orchestra


The first concert by Symphony Orchestra took place in Chernivtsi in 26 November 1992. It was organized by the Honored Artist of Ukraine Viktor Kostryzh and the Head of Chernivtsi City Council Viktor Pavliuk. Since 2000 Chief Conductor and Art Director – Josyp Sozansky.

Read More

Ensemble Barocameri, Israel

Ensemble Barocameri, Israel


Ensemble Barocameri, established nearly six years ago, is led by conductor and musical director Avner Itai, and includes musicians, singers and instrumentalists, from all over Israel, whose desire is to make music they love, in the way they love to make music.

Read More

SAXOFONQUADRAT ALTE UND NEUE MUSIK FÜR VIER SAXOFONE

SAXOFONQUADRAT


The four Berlin musicians transcend established musical genre boundaries and socially established concert habits: SAXOFONQUADRAT transforms the classical concert hall into a bubbling jazz stage and the wicked scene club into a devout church.

Read More

Das »Synagogal Ensemble Berlin« ist das einzige Profi-Ensemble, das jeden Freitagabend, Schabbatmorgen sowie an allen jüdischen Feiertagen die Liturgie von Louis Lewandowski zum Klingen bringt.

Synagogal Ensemble Berlin


The Synagogal Ensemble Berlin is the only professional ensemble in the world to perform Louis Lewandowski's liturgy every Friday evening, every Shabbat morning and on all Jewish feast days. Its members are eight singers, who belong to the Choirs of the Berlin Opera Houses and of Berlin Radio or work as freelance soloists. It is directed by Regina Yantian M.A.

Read More

THE MOSCOW MALE JEWISH CAPPELLA

THE MOSCOW MALE JEWISH CAPPELLA


The Male Choir of Cantorial Art Academy was established in 1989 with personal support from Mikhail Gorbachev, then president of the USSR, and assistance from the Russian Jewish Community and Joint Distribution Committee, an American Jewish charity. In 1998 the choir was renamed the Hassidic Cappella and based at the Moscow Maryina Roshcha Jewish Community.

Read More

Festival Magazin 2017


Since 2016 the annual festival magazine has been published with interesting articles about the festival - portraits of the choirs, the programmes of the events and impressions of the previous year. Here you will find a few excerpts.

Louis´Lab

The choirs sing again in the Reinbeckhallen in Berlin-Obeschöneweide and the audience is invited to sing along. At the Festival 2016 a concert of a different kind took place for the first time with the support of the mayor of Treptow-Köpenick, Oliver Igel …

read more »

St. Nilkolai, Potsdam

In 2017, Louis Lewandowski Festival will make his first guest appearance in one of Potsdam’s most important buildings: the Protestant Church of St. Nicholas. The enormous dome, inspired among other things by St. Paul’s Cathedral in London, forms the characteristic centre of the city …

read more »

An unbroken Legacy

Two months after the liberation of Berlin two hundred people gathered for a memorial service in the British sector of Berlin, in the cleaned-up ruins of the Pestalozzistrasse Synagogue. In a letter, an American GI describes this service to his wife, …

read more »

Louis Lewandowski

The life of Louis Lewandowski, who was born in Wreschen near Poznan in 1821, was never an easy one. At the age of 12, the boy was sent by his family to Berlin to take care of himself …

read more »

Visitors

Greetings to the Festival 2017


We are pleased about the support of the Governing Mayor of Berlin and the Chairman of the Jewish Community of Berlin.

Partner and Sponsors


We thank our partners and sponsors, who make this great festival possible year after year.

Louis Lewandowski Festival 2018

Berlin | Potsdam 20.- 23. Dezember


Im Judentum liegen Freude und Trauer sehr nah beieinander und so widmen wir das LLF 2018 einem fröhlichen und einem traurigen Ereignis, dem 70. Unabhängigkeitstag des Staates Israel und der 80. Wiederkehr des Novemberpogroms von 1938.

Stern der Hoffnung – Israelische Chormusik
Novemberpogrom als Sinnbild für die darauf folgende Vernichtung der Juden und die Gründung des Staates Israel sind thematisch sehr eng miteinander verbunden, ist doch die Gründung des Staates Israel als Antwort auf den Massenmord in der Schoa zu verstehen.

Wir werden uns nach einem kurzen musikalischen Gedenken der schöpferischen, positiven Kraft der israelischen Chormusik in ihren verschiedenen Facetten und ihrem ganzen Reichtum zuwenden. In ihr fand der Bezug zum Aufbau des Landes mit seinen Menschen und Landschaften,

zur wiederbelebten hebräischen Sprache, zur jüdischen Religion, zur Bibel, um nur einige Beispiele zu nennen, ihren künstlerischen, identitätsstiftenden Ausdruck. Sie ist auch ein Spiegel der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung des Landes.

Lag der Schwerpunkt in der Anfangsphase noch auf der Musik der aus Europa stammenden aschkenasischen Juden, wurde sie im Laufe der Jahre vielfältiger und bildete die verschiedenen im Lande lebenden Ethnien ab. Das Festival möchte dieser Vielfalt gerecht werden und einen Bogen über 70 Jahre Israel spannen.

Chöre des Louis Lewandowski Festivals 2018


Das siebte Louis Lewandowski Festival kehrte im letzten Jahr zurück zu einem der Väter der modernen Synagogalmusik und damit zum Namensgeber des Festivals.

ADI CLASSICAL YOUNG CHOIR at the New Vocal Ensemble was established in 2006 by Yishai Shteckler and Goni Bar Sela. Since 2009, it performs under the baton of its musical director, conductor Oded Shomrony.

Adi Classical Young Choir, Israel


Der Adi Classical Young Choir des New Vocal Ensemble wurde 2006 von Yishai Shteckler und Goni Bar Sela gegründet. Seit 2009 zeichnet Musikdirektor und Dirigent Oded Shomrony verantwortlich. Der Chor tritt auf in Abonnement-Konzerten von Orchestern und mit verschiedenen a-cappella-Programmen bei HaMishkan LeOmanuyot HaBama, während des Abu Ghosh Festival, im Jerusalem Music Center, dem Tel Aviv Museum der Künste, dem Felicja Blumental Music Center und der Mormonen Universität, Jerusalem.

weiterlesen »

CECILIA ENSEMBLE, Israel

Cecilia Ensemble, Israel


Ein neues Ensemble aus der Gruppe der Moran Chöre, das Cecilia Ensemble,, besteht aus acht herausragenden Solo-Sängern Israels.
Das Ensemble wurde 2016 von Naomi Faran, Dirigentin und musikalische Direktorin der Moran Chöre, mit dem Anspruch gegründet, auf professioneller Ebene ursprüngliche und zugleich einzigartige musikalische Programme in Zusammenarbeit mit den besten Komponisten Israels und der ganzen Welt aufzuführen.

weiterlesen »

Ensemble Barocameri, Israel

Ensemble Barocameri, Israel


Das vor sechs Jahren gegründete Ensemble Barocameri wird von Dirigent und Musikdirektor Avner Itai geleitet und umfasst Musiker, Sänger und Instrumentalisten aus ganz Israel, deren Wunsch es ist, Musik zu machen, die sie lieben, so wie sie es lieben, Musik zu machen.

weiterlesen »

  SAXOFONQUADRAT	 ALTE UND NEUE MUSIK FÜR VIER SAXOFONE

SAXOFONQUADRAT


Programmatisch setzen sich die vier Berliner Musiker über etablierte musikalische Genregrenzen und sozial etablierte Konzertgewohnheiten hinweg: SAXOFONQUADRAT verwandelt den klassischen Konzertsaal in eine brodelnde Jazzbühne und den verruchten Szeneklub in einen andächtigen Kirchenraum.

weiterlesen »

Academic Symphony Orchestra of Chernivtsi Philharmonic Society

Sinfonieorchester Czernowitz


Akademisches Symphonieorchester der Tschernivtsi Philharmonischen Gesellschaft.
Das erste Konzert des Symphonieorchesters fand am 26. November 1992 in Tschernivtsi statt. Organisiert wurde es vom Verdienten Künstler der Ukraine Viktor Kostryzh und dem Vorsitzenden des Stadtrates von Tschernivtsi Viktor Pavliuk. Seit 2000 Chefdirigent und Art Director - Josyp Sozansky

weiterlesen »

Das »Synagogal Ensemble Berlin« ist das einzige Profi-Ensemble, das jeden Freitagabend, Schabbatmorgen sowie an allen jüdischen Feiertagen die Liturgie von Louis Lewandowski zum Klingen bringt.

SYNAGOGAL ENSEMBLE BERLIN


Das »Synagogal Ensemble Berlin« ist das einzige Profi-Ensemble, das jeden Freitagabend, Schabbatmorgen sowie an allen jüdischen Feiertagen die Liturgie von Louis Lewandowski zum Klingen bringt.

weiterlesen »

THE MOSCOW MALE JEWISH CAPPELLA

THE MOSCOW MALE JEWISH CAPPELLA


Der Male Choir of Cantorial Art Academy wurde 1989 mit persönlicher Unterstützung des damaligen Präsidenten der UdSSR, Michail Gorbatschow, unter Hilfe der Russischen Jüdischen Gemeinde und dem Joint Distribution Committee gegründet. 1998 erhielt der Chor den Namen Hassidic Cappella und war in der Moskauer jüdischen Gemeinde Maryina Roshcha beheimatet.

weiterlesen »

Festival Magazin 2017


Seit 2016 erscheint das jährliche Festival Magazin mit wissenswerten Beiträgen rund um das Festival – Portraits der Chöre, die Programme der Veranstaltungen und Impressionen des Vorjahres. Hier finden Sie ein paar Ausschnitte.

Louis´Lab

Die Chöre singen wieder in den Reinbeckhallen in Berlin-Obeschöneweide und das Publikum ist eingeladen mitzusingen. Beim Festival 2016 fand zum ersten Mal mit Unterstützung des Bürgermeisters von Treptow-Köpenick, Oliver Igel, ein Konzert der etwas anderen Art statt

weiterlesen »

St. Nilkolai, Potsdam

Erstmals gastiert das Louis Lewandowski 2017 in einem der bedeutendsten Bauwerke Potsdams: der evangelischen Kirche St. Nikolai. Die gewaltige Kuppel, unter anderem von der St.-Pauls-Kathedrale in London inspiriert, bildet den charakteristischen Mittelpunkt der Stadt.

weiterlesen »

Ein ungebrochenes Verhältnis

Zwei Monate nach der deutschen Kapitulation und dem Ende des Holocausts versammelten sich etwa zweihundert Menschen zu einer Gedenkfeier im britischen Sektor Berlins, in den aufgeräumten Ruinen der Synagoge Pestalozzistraße.

weiterlesen »

Louis Lewandowski

Das Leben von Louis Lewandowski, der 1821 in Wreschen bei Posen zur Welt kam, war nie ein einfaches. Bereits im zarten Alter von 12 Jahren wurde der Junge von seiner Familie nach Berlin geschickt, um dort selbst für sich zu sorgen.

weiterlesen »

Besucherstimmen

Grußworte zum Festival 2017


Wir freuen uns über die Unterstützung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin und des Vorsitzenden der jüdische Gemeinde zu Berlin.

Partner und Sponsoren


Wir danken unsere Partner und Sponsoren, die Jahr für Jahr dieses großartige Festival erneut ermöglichen.